First Listen: Beyonce: “Girls (Who Run The World)”

Reppin’ for the girls taking over the world
Who were raised with class, the college grads…

It took me awhile to dig Beyonce Knowles. I wasn’t into Destiny’s Child, but her solo albums started to get my attention. Then she married Jay-Z, and I really paid attention, as the walls and robotic-ness of teen pop stardom seemed to come down. On hindsight, those walls were probably necessary, since it kept her from derailing like many of her peers.

Then she dropped “Single Ladies.” A sucker for dances, I of course had to learn it. She even inspired my Halloween costume. I dug Sasha Fierce, and really dug that Beyonce was just a shy girl offstage. When she performed a 30 second strut and fan-powered hair bounce at Jay-Z’s 9/11 show, I had to say, “Beyonce is a beast.”

But now that she’s tapped Diplo for her upcoming album, I’m truly excited. Not only does she know how to stay innovative, she is just a young hip chick in love with music. Now there’s finally a connection.

With a voice strong enough to complement a rough beat, and the moves to stomp it out, Beyonceslay is on the loose.

Leave a Reply

