One Year Later: Voices From Haiti


Photo: Jansochor.com

When I get older
I will be stronger…

Last year, devastation took hold of a small nation of a strong people. Although the camera crews have gone, and the benefit concerts have dissipated, the work to rebuild has only begun.

Here are some voices from January 12, 2010.

Rebuild.

From MTV.com
Vinouth, 25
“I am a nurse from Naples, Florida. All of my family lives in Haiti. When I heard what happened, I packed my bags and I knew I had to find someone who would take me to Haiti. I feel like Haiti needed help before, but this is a way to put Haiti back on the radar. The help cannot stop.”

Nicodeme, 29
“I am a Haitian doctor. Me and my family are alive, but about 100,000 people are dead. I lost many friends, a lot of teachers — some members of my family. I cannot stay in my house because it seems like it is going to fall. I was about to prepare for my specialty exam [for medicine] when this happened and now it is difficult for me to continue.”

Borgelin, 27
“I am from Baradines [in the Haitian countryside]. I’m lived in Port-au-Prince since I was [young]. When the earthquake started, I was upstairs with three children cutting their hair. We could not do anything [as] the house trembled, [but could] only call Jesus. That’s [what] I did and Jesus in his grace, his love for us, saved me. It’s by grace, a miracle that I’m living today. My family’s house is gone. I lost an aunt and cousin. We need food, water, medicine and help. We need money too, if it’s possible. The most important thing for me is to find a scholarship to go study medicine.”

TimesOnline.uk
@Firesideint The streets are crowded. Hundreds of thousands of people without homes. People walking everywhere.

@TroyLivesay Church groups are singing throughout the city all through the night in prayer. It is a beautiful sound in the middle of a horrible tragedy.

NYTimes.com

Leave a Reply

