Glee Meets Britney

You look like a cast member of Kids Incorporated.

I spent a lot of time hating Britney Spears. She dated the love of my life since I was nine years old. Yeah, her songs were addictive and I could break out her dance routines. Maybe a song or two… or an album made its way on my iPod. But I totally hated her. While I was pining away in the 90s listening to Janet Jackson albums, she was sharing a first kiss with my man.

I couldn’t like her as an avid music lover, she lip synched. Milli Vanilli pop wannabees are just not supposed to be in my catalog. I can do the same thing when I sing in my hairbrush. I mean, how many times can you say “baby” in one song? Her outfits? Unacceptable! Her Rolling Stone covers? Inappropriate! When she performed on the VMAs in the nude catsuit (on the arm of my Justin Timberlake)? Terrible! But I knew the songs in my sleep. She was inescapable.

Sure, I totally began to like her in the open when they broke up. She seemed less annoying and maybe iconic. Just a little.

Glee has a way of taking us back to another time. It’s an hour of happy. After the Madonna and Lady Gaga episodes, an hour celebrating Britney seemed inevitable. Glee star Heather Morris, also one of the dancers in Beyonce’s “Single Ladies” video, was spot on as Brit Brit. The woman herself appeared as a fairy godmother in dream sequences.

The show’s shining performance wasn’t from the Britney songbook, but the warm and fuzzy feeling from Rachel’s rendition of Paramore’s “Only Exception.” It was a chance to listen to the lyrics and fall in love with them.

With so much hecticness in our lives, it’s nice to have a moment to just smile and reminisce awhile.

Hit me, one more time.

Leave a Reply

