The J List: The Aaliyah Edition

You’re a positive motivating force within my life…

It’s hard to believe that it’s been nine years since her passing. I have been an Aaliyah fan since I was 12 years old. I remember watching her “Back and Forth” video, and being instantly drawn to her unique style. As a shy kid, I connected with her quiet confidence. I adopted her as an older sister, and immediately asked my mom how I’d be able to blow dry my hair so I could rock her straight and sleek swoop.

I’ve grown up a lot since that 12 year old girl, and it’s now her work ethic and warmth that inspire me most. She is a wonderful example of a simply good person. She’s an inspiration and a role model to many artists, who aspire to her excellence. Photographer Nastassia Davis’ artwork has elements of Aaliyah’s famous photo shoots, and her music has inspired up and coming music producer Tahkyia Willis of ATBMJ Productions. She’s in Ciara’s sultry dance moves, and Corinne Bailey Rae’s sweet voice.

Aaliyah’s legacy lives on in the generation she touched so deeply by a life so beautifully lived.

This week’s J List is dedicated to the incomparable Aaliyah, featuring her music and those inspired by her artistry. Aaliyah shares her birthday with her own icon, Sade, and I’ve included some of her timeless music.

J

2 responses to “The J List: The Aaliyah Edition

  1. Aaliyah has left an indelible mark on so many hearts and will always remain an inspiration to future generations and fans.

    Forever in our hearts /.\

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention The J List: The Aaliyah Edition « Goldenladyj's Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

