Decade in Review: *NSYNC Fandemonium

Every little thing I do…

Justin Timberlake seems to only play golf now, and I’d like to think I had a little something to do with that.

I brought in this decade with a bedroom filled with *NSYNC posters, pillows, autographed photos from Ebay, and an *NSYNC album in my cd player. I braved pouring rains to catch a glimpse of them at the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade, and blistery cold winter winds to see them at the Christmas Tree lighting at Rockefeller Center.

March 21, 2000 was a victory on all counts for the *NSYNC fan. The band almost lost their names due to breaking their contract from Lou Pearlman. This was the time in my life when I wrote letters when their albums and concerts got bad reviews. I would defend their five part harmonies, my knees felt weak every time I saw Justin’s curly and often platinum locks, I taped every Rosie O’Donnell and TRL appearance. And since it was all about the music, I had every single album, including imports from Europe. I had them all.

No Strings Attached is the best selling album of the decade. The album sold 2.4 million copies in its first week, and 1.1 million copies its first day. It’s sold over 10 million copies worldwide, 9 million alone in 2000. Victory was sweet for the *NSYNC fan.

In the most passionate act of fandemonium, my best friend and I went to Madison Square Garden at 3am in the to stand on line for concert tickets for the No Strings Attached tour. We missed out on tickets for the first show, and felt like life was over. When the second round of tickets popped up, our moms allowed us to trek to Manhattan alone to end our teenage crisis. We survived our trip and onto the floor for the No Strings Attached concert that made it to HBO. Our faces even made it on screen.

My teen years will always remind me of my *NSYNC days, and I will always smile. It was a time of giggley crushes, screams, and long lines. I still blush whenever I see their colorful videos, synchronized dance moves, and those days I hated Britney because I was sure I had a chance with JT (although I secretly loved her music too).

Although Justin broke away from the pack (the love of my life since I was about 9 years old), the ever hopeful *NSYNC fan hasn’t given up hope of a reunion.

If there was a reimbursement check for the money I invested over the boy band craze, I’d be a wealthy lady.

Leave a Reply

