Owl City- Fireflies

It’s hard to stay awake when I’m asleep, because my dreams are bursting at the seams.

In case you haven’t noticed, 80s babies are taking over. Owl City’s “Fireflies” is like Lite brite set to music. The video creates a world of wonder in lead singer Adam Young’s bedroom, filled with toys that we have stored away in a chest somewhere at our parents’ houses, but the memories that won’t fade away.

“Fireflies” reminds me of the scene in the movie Big, when Tom Hanks played a melody while jumping on the huge piano at FAO Schwartz. It takes me back to my six year old self, and it reminds me of life before the internet, when we just enjoyed ourselves with Nintendo and toted around Teddy Ruxpin, when we needed AA batteries and not chargers. And when we could grow up to do anything, and just sit up at night dreaming of all the possibilities.

“Fireflies” is a huge hit for the breakout band. It’s one of the fastest selling electronica tracks ever. Their album, Ocean Eyes, is available now.

One response to “Owl City- Fireflies

  1. Phillip Labossiere

    You know I felt the same way when I first listened to Owl City. They have those kind of lyrics that just make you feel young & gives you the similar mentality and view of the world through the eyes of a child. Like no matter whats happening in life it doesn’t matter. “I’d Like to make myself believe, that planet earth turns slow..ly” hmmm…you gotta enjoy the little things in life.

    Love the blog keep up the awesomeness J

Leave a Reply

